Mysteries of the Rosary

The Joyful Mysteries

1. The Annunciation

Mary learns that she has been chosen to be the mother of Jesus.

2. The Visitation

Mary visits Elizabeth, who tells her that she will always be remembered.

3. The Nativity

Jesus is born in a stable in Bethlehem.

4. The Presentation

Mary and Joseph take the infant Jesus to the Temple to present him to God.

5. The Finding of Jesus in the Temple

Jesus is found in the Temple discussing his faith with the teachers.

The Mysteries of Light

1. The Baptism of Jesus in the River Jordan

God proclaims that Jesus is his beloved Son.

2. The Wedding Feast at Cana

At Mary’s request, Jesus performs his first miracle.

3. The Proclamation of the Kingdom of God

Jesus calls all to conversion and service to the Kingdom.

4. The Transfiguration of Jesus

Jesus is revealed in glory to Peter, James, and John.

5. The Institution of the Eucharist

Jesus offers his Body and Blood at the Last Supper.

The Sorrowful Mysteries

1. The Agony in the Garden

Jesus prays in the Garden of Gethsemane on the night before he dies.

2. The Scourging at the Pillar

Jesus is lashed with whips.

3. The Crowning With Thorns

Jesus is mocked and crowned with thorns.

4. The Carrying of the Cross

Jesus carries the cross that will be used to crucify him.

5. The Crucifixion

Jesus is nailed to the cross and dies.

The Glorious Mysteries

1. The Resurrection

God the Father raises Jesus from the dead.

2. The Ascension

Jesus returns to his Father in heaven.

3. The Coming of the Holy Spirit

The Holy Spirit comes to bring new life to the disciples.

4. The Assumption of Mary

At the end of her life on earth, Mary is taken body and soul into heaven.

5. The Coronation of Mary

Mary is crowned as Queen of Heaven and Earth.